Tags

, ,

Dear Santa, I know it is only February and your little helpers are probably resting but can you please send me a franchise quarterback to play for my Chicago Bears? I promise to be extra good.

In recent memory, I cannot think of a more polarizing athlete than Jay Cutler. From week to week, we jump on a roller coaster ride with this guy. One day, I hate him and want to trade him for a hot dog vendor, another day I want to write his name in the sky with smiley faces. The buzz around Chicago two years ago had me thinking Super Bowls (yes that was plural). Though our defense was not as dominant as it once was, it was certainly reliable and the backbone of the team. The “if only we had a stud quarterback” was finally going to be answered. The “holy crap, did we really rack up over 350 total offensive yards” was going to be a routine event with Cutler at the helm. But like disappointments before him, Cutler did not take us to that level during his first season in Chicago. But even with that sour taste in our mouths, we still believed in Jay Cutler.

This past season gave us many memories…the “win” over Detroit in the season opener,  the chess match with the Jets at Soldier Field,  and the loss against the Packers during the regular season which would have knocked Green Bay out of the playoffs. I can easily point out that the offensive line was atrocious for more than half the season; they were the reason why our star QB was given a concussion. Cutler took a beating and he never complained – at least not publicly. There was a stretch in the season where Forte forgot how to run the ball, and Hester seemed more interested in dancing to Soldier Boy than acting like a number one receiver. Was it just me or did you cringe when Olsen ran after the catch? I lost count how many times he would get ripped and fumble the football. But throughout it all, Jay said they were his guys and that they won and lost together. Forget about the yards and touchdown, I could not have been more proud of the guy because he finally showed that he had grown up. He finally got the wakeup call. His actions said that you can criticize him all you want but do not talk crap about his teammates on the offensive side. That was the heart and passion we were waiting for.

Look, I know people had some choice words after that NFC Championship loss. Should he have toughened up? Maybe. The last report I heard from a doctor was that Cutler was lucky he did not tear his MCL. Those who know football or have even experienced this know that it is an 8 month recovery. The first year back is almost a lost season because you have to learn to play without the fear of re-injuring and need to regain the confidence in planting your leg (See Carson Palmer, you are never the same after the injury). If you ask me, I’ll take the loss against the Packers rather than lose Cutler to either an ACL/MCL injury.

Now, this is where the pampering and excuses end. Jay Cutler, you should have been the biggest damn cheerleader for the team. We were in the game!!! Once Caleb Hanie entered the game, you should have been his Obi-Wan Kenobi, mentoring him after every series. But no, you sat at the end of the bench and did nothing. Even Charles Woodsen was cheerleading his team during his injury in the Super Bowl. After the loss, we were hurt, Jay. Then we hear you had dinner that evening at a restaurant with your girlfriend. Sorry dude, but I couldn’t even eat for two days after that game. Days later, you were spotted having a nice walk with KC in sunny California. What makes me sick is that looking from the outside, judging by the only things you showed us, that loss meant nothing to you. Is it too much to want our athletes to feel a little pain and suffering like their fans do? We were committed and you flaked out, Jay. You fooled us, and we deserve better. I cannot speak for everyone in Chicago, but I no longer believe in you.

Next Topic: Luol Deng